Ghana have been seeded ahead of the 2017 Cup of Nations draw on October 19 which comes off in Cairo.

The four-time champions will join Ivory Coast, Algeria and host-nation Gabon in pot 1 ahead of the draw in Libreville, Gabon on Wednesday.

This means the Black Stars will avoid playing reigning champions Ivory Coast and the host-nation in the group phase of the competition.
For the draw, host Gabon automatically goes to A1 and holders Cote d’Ivoire in C1.

A draw will determine Ghana and Algeria for the positions of either B1 or D1.

Tunisia, Mali, Burkina Faso and DR Congo are in pot 2 with Cameroon, Senegal, Morocco and Egypt in pot 3.

Togo, Uganda, Zimbabwe and Guinea Bissau complete the cast in pot 4.

The final tournament will be held from 14 January to 5 February 2017 in the Gabonese cities of Libreville, Franceville, Oyem-Bitam and Port-Gentil.

Pot 1: Gabon, Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana, Algeria
Pot 2: Tunisia, Mali, Burkina Faso, DR Congo
Pot 3: Cameroon, Senegal, Morocco, Egypt
Pot 4: Togo, Uganda, Zimbabwe, Guinea Bissau

Source: CAF

By Upper West Media

Ghanaian Blogger

Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!