The chase by African countries for a
place in the 2018 Fifa World Cup begins
in October after Fifa held its draw in St
Petersburg on Saturday. The qualifying stages have been grouped into
three phases with the lowest ranked countries
on the continent to begin the preliminary stages
from 5-13 October 2015. The winners of the
first round will join the 27 countries, ranked
highest in Africa in a home and away tie. World Cup 2010 host South Africa have been
handed a tough draw in the second round as
they clash with Angola, while African
champions Cote D’Ivoire will face the winner
between Liberia and Guinea Bissau. West
African giants Ghana will take on the winner between Comoros Island and Lesotho.
The winners after the second round will be
paired into five groups consisting of four
countries each and they will face each other in
a home and away ties from October 3, 2016 to
November 14, 2017, with each group winner automatically qualifying to the 2018 Fifa World
Cup in Russia.


Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!