The governing National Democratic Congress has lost five seats in the Upper West Regions in this year’s elections, according to provisional results.

The party swept all eleven seats in the 2012 general elections but its fortunes have dwindled in this year’s polls.

Among the casualties are MPs for Sisala East, Alijata Suleman, Sisala West, Alhaji Amidu Suleman, who also happens to be the Upper West Regional Minister; Wa East, Dr Seidu Danaa who is also the Minister of Chieftaincy And Nandom Constituency where Ambrose Dery Of Npp Won.

Nandom MP Dr Benjamin Kumbuor decided not to seek re-election. His successor lost while the incumbent for Lawra, Samson Abu who won on the ticket of the NDC in 2012 lost as an independent candidate to the NPP’s Anthony Abayifa Karbo.

By: Classfmonline

Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!