NPP Parliamentary Primaries

Several Party Faithfuls have picked forms to contest NPP’s Parliamentary Primaries in the Upper West Region.

Constituencies with sitting MPs Including Sissala East, Nandom and Lambussie will be on hold till 20th December 2023.

Some Names that have popped up So Far.

Dafiama-Bussie-Issa Constituency
Two people have declared interest so far and they include Current DCE of the Area, Mr. Nadi Sanda Imoro and Lawyer Mujeeb Kele.

Wa East Constituency

Three People have declared their interest so far and they include Mr
Yakubu Salifu, Dr. Ewurah Suleman who the Current DCE of the Area

Wa West Constituency

Three Names have Popped Up including Mr. Bukari Alii, Current DCE for Wa West, Madam Vida Diorotey.

Nadowli-Kaleo Constituency, Madam Katherine Lankono has expressed interest in contesting including Elvis Banoemuleng Botah.

Jirapa Constituency
Lawyer Nicholas Soyiri who is the MCE for the Area shall battle it out with Hajia Aisha Salifu.

Two People have picked forms to contest

Lawra Constituency
The Former Law Maker, Mr Anthony Karbo go unopposed.

Sissala West Constituency

Naliwie Baluwie and  Hawa Batong Hor

Wa Central Constituency

Mr Nayaru a Son of Former Regional NPP Chairman, Mr Saaka Jie and two others Hajia Humu Awudu and Current MCE Mr. Issahaku Tahiru Moomin.

Seats of Lambussie, Sissala East and Nandom with hold Primaries in 2024.

The nomination period for the presidential primaries will begun on May 26 and ended on June 24, 2023. The party also announced that parliamentary primaries will be held on February 24, 2024 and nominations will be accepted between December 20, 2023, and January 4, 2024.

the National Council has barred National, Regional, Constituency Party Executives and MMDCEs from contesting in constituencies where the party has sitting Members of Parliament.

The approved timelines are as follows:

Opening of Nomination – 26th May 2023
Closing of Nomination -24th June 2023
Special Electoral College Elections (if any) -26th August 2023
National Congress – 4th November 2023


Opening of Nominations -16th June 2023
Closing of Nominations – 14th July 2023
Elections – from 1st August to 2nd December 2023

Opening of Nominations – 20th December 2023
Closing of Nominations – 4th January 2024
Elections – 24th February 2024


Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!