The University for Development Studies (UDS) is to establish new distance learning centres in the southern part of the country.

According to the Principal of the Wa Campus of the UDS, Professor Amin Alhassan, the UDS already has long-distance learning centres in Tamale, Yendi, Bimbilla, Kpandai, Walewale, Sawla, Bawku, Sandema, Navrongo, Wa and Jirapa.
Addressing the 26th matriculation ceremony of the UDS at Wa at the weekend, Professor Alhassan said apart from the increase in students’ intake this academic year, there had also been a modest increase in the number of female enrolment from 1,552 last academic year to 1,983 this academic year.
He said the university admitted a total of 7,374 students this academic year to pursue various programmes of study at both the undergraduate and postgraduate levels.
They are made up of 1,983 females and 3,048 male students at the undergraduate level, and 78 females and 282 male students for the postgraduate programmes.

Distance education programmes
Prof. Alhassan said a total of 1,155 students were also matriculated at both the undergraduate and postgraduate levels in the university’s distance education programmes at its various centres within the three regions of the north.
Prof. Alhassan took the opportunity to warn the freshers to be law-abiding and keep away from bad friends who would lead them into bad habits.
“You must know that your parents are investing heavily in you and you should re-pay their selfless efforts through hard work and serious study,” he admonished them.

The principal commended the security personnel on the various campuses for strictly enforcing that all motorbike riders wear their crash helmet.
“The enforcement of the law has no doubt proven to be the panacea for needless deaths previously experienced in the university. The number of deaths from motorbikes related accidents by students has reduced,” he said.
The UDS, noted for its unique experience, blends academic work with community life through its outreach programme known as the Third Trimester Field Practical Programme and has four campuses for students to pursue programmes of study located at Wa, Tamale, Nyankpala and Navrongo.

By: Daily Graphic

Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!